ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 Canberra fixtures have been announced

Posted 29 Jan 2019

Story by CBR Canberra

What do Australia, England, the West Indies, South Africa and Pakistan all have in common? All these teams, plus two yet to be determined qualifying teams, will be playing in Canberra as part of the ICC T20 World Cup 2020.

Canberra has been selected to host five ICC Women’s T20 World Cup matches in 2020. This will be the first time the tournament has been played in Australia and the first time the women’s competition has been staged as a standalone event.

The opening day of action in Canberra, on Wednesday 26 February, will see 2009 champions and 2018 finalists, England, play in the first match of a double header, followed by 2016 champions West Indies clashing with Pakistan.

Defending champions Australia will be on show under lights on Thursday 27 February, the middle day of the Manuka Oval program.

Friday 28 February will see another double header in Canberra, with South Africa in action in the afternoon game, followed by England and Pakistan. Qualifier teams will be confirmed mid-year.

Hosting women’s matches as part of the ICC T20 World Cup 2020 will deliver extensive international media coverage and profiling opportunities for Canberra through the tournament’s global broadcast, which will serve to further enhance Canberra’s reputation as a world-class events and tourism destination.

The ACT Chief Minister, Andrew Barr, has announced that $2.7m will be invested in new roof canopies at Manuka Oval to provide more shade for up to 1,000 seats by late 2019. The funding will also include a camera deck. The new multi-use Media and Function Centre also provides shade for almost 500 seats, and is a great facility for corporate events during AFL and Cricket games as well as community events on non-game days.

Register to buy tickets to these T20 World Cup 2020 fixtures at icc-cricket.com.

Have you got a Canberra story to share? Send it through for a chance to be featured!